International Travel: These 4 Countries Have Extended Ban On Travellers From India


Despite the Coronavirus situation in India continue to improve, many countries have extended travel ban on India in the wake of the rapid spread of the Delta variant.

The Delta variant of Covid-19 which was first reported in October 2020, has now spread to over 100 countries and is being seen as the major reason for the huge rise in Covid-19 cases in many countries including the United Kingdom.

Recently countries like Canada, the Philippines, Saudi Arabia, and UAE have extended the ban on travelers from India;


Canada on 20th July extends the ban on direct flights from India by another 30 days, the ban was about to expire on July 21, but will now remain in place until August 21. It is the fourth time the ban has been extended since it was first imposed on 22nd April 2021 amid the fears of Coronavirus transmission of the Delta variant.


The extension of the ban was “based on public health advice” said a release issued on Monday from Health Canada.


Last week the Philippines has also announced that it has extended the travel restrictions on 10 countries Including India until 15th Aug 2021.

The list of other countries includes Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Indonesia, Malaysia, and Thailand.

The announcement comes amid the spread of Delta variant and surge in the number of Covid-19 cases in the above-mentioned country.


Saudi Arabia

Saudi Arabia has recently announced that the country will open its doors to fully vaccinated tourists, and lift off the suspension of entry for tourist visa holders, starting from August 1, 2021.

However, the country has still not allowed travelers from ‘Red List’ countries and also imposed a 3-year travel ban on citizens who traveling to countries on the kingdom’s ‘red list’ in order to curb the spread of coronavirus and its new variants.

Saudi Arabia has banned travel to or transit at a number of countries including Afghanistan, Argentina, Brazil, Egypt, Ethiopia, India, Indonesia, Lebanon, Pakistan, South Africa, Turkey, Vietnam, and the United Arab Emirates.

United Arab Emirates (UAE)

UAE’s General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) has suspended all flights from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka Until August 7. Moreover, all passengers who have connected through India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, or Sri Lanka in the last 14 days will not be accepted to travel from any other point to the UAE.


In the circular issued on 22nd July, the GCAA also stated that flight and passenger restrictions from countries, including India, Pakistan, South Africa, and Indonesia, remain.

Other countries on the list include Afghanistan, Bangladesh, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Liberia, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Uganda, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Vietnam, and Zambia.

Apart from the above-mentioned countries, Indians can’t travel to Australia, Bangladesh, Indonesia, Italy, Kuwait, New Zealand, Oman, Singapore, etc.

It may be noted that France has recently removed India from the red list and fully vaccinated Indians can now travel to France. Germany has also eased travel restrictions for India.


Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!

Also Read: VBM: Air India Announced Flights Between Delhi and Kathmandu


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6081