Philippines Extends Travel Restrictions For India, 9 Other Countries Till Aug 15


The Philippines on Friday announced that it has extended the travel restrictions on 10 countries Including India until 15th Aug 2021.

The list of other countries includes Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Indonesia, Malaysia, and Thailand.

The announcement comes amid the spread of Delta variant and surge in the number of Covid-19 cases in the above-mentioned country.

Informing about the decision, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said that President Rodrigo Roa Duterte approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) to extend the travel restrictions currently imposed to 10 countries starting August 1 until August 15, 2021.


It may be noted that the Philippines had first imposed the travel restrictions on India in April and extended later as the latter faced an unprecedented surge in infection cases.

On July 14, the government again extended the ban till July 31.

The extended travel ban came after President Duterte expressed concern over the contagious Delta variant, first detected in India, news agency PTI reported citing Manila Times.

The country has, so far, reported 216 cases of the Delta variant, but health experts say there could be more undetected cases because of the slow pace of the country’s genome sequencing capacity.


Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!

Also Read: DGCA Extends Suspension of Scheduled International Flights Till August 31


Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter