US To Reopen For Fully Vaccinated Travelers From 33 Countries Starting Nov 08


Finally, a piece of good news coming for those who wish to travel to the United States, starting from 08th Nov 2021 the country is now planning to reopen its borders for fully vaccinated travelers.

The announcement made by Kevin Munoz, the White House Assistant Press Secretary;

“The US’ new travel policy that requires vaccination for foreign national travelers to the United States will begin on Nov 8. This announcement and date apply to both international air travel and land travel. This policy is guided by public health, stringent, and consistent.”

It must be noted that fully vaccinated travelers from;

  • India
  • Britain
  • Ireland
  • China
  • South Africa
  • Iran and
  • Brazil

along with 26 countries in Europe, including France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, and Greece would be allowed to travel to the US.

This means the United States will be open for non-essential travel for everyone even for those who are traveling from the banned countries, as long as they are fully vaccinated and produce the proof of vaccination on their arrival at the US and would also need to submit a negative Covid-19 test.

“Earlier this week, to help them prepare their systems, we informed airlines that the vaccines that are FDA authorized/approved or listed for emergency use by WHO will meet the criteria for travel to the U.S.,” CDC spokesperson Caitlin Shockey said;


List of Vaccines Authorized For Travel to US

  • Moderna mRNA-1273
  • Pfizer/BioNTech BNT162b2
  • Janssen (Johnson & Johnson) Ad26.COV2.S
  • Oxford/AstraZeneca AZD1222
  • Serum Institute of India Covishield (Oxford/AstraZeneca formulation)
  • Sinopharm (Beijing) BBIBP-CorV (Vero Cells)
  • Sinovac CoronaVac

However, foreign visitors traveling by land would not be required to show proof of a recent negative Covid-19 test.

The CDC plans to soon issue new rules on contact tracing for international air travelers.

 To counter the spread of the Covid-19 pandemic, the United States has imposed curbs on non-essential travel at land borders and air travel since March 2020.

The restrictions on air travel have been imposed for 33 countries, including India, China, Brazil, and many European nations.


On September 30, the US government had announced that they would be lifting restrictions on air travelers from 33 countries including India and China in November, however, a date had not been mentioned.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!

Also Read: UK To Ease Covid-19 Testing Rules For Most Inbound Passengers Starting Oct 24


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6181