UK Announced New Travel Rules, Pre-Book PCR Test, Self Isolation Mandatory For All Passenger


The Govt of the United Kingdom on Saturday announced new travel curbs and said all international arrivals entering England (UK) must take a day 2 PCR test and self-isolation until they receive a negative result.

The announcement comes amid the fear of the new Omicron variant of Covid-19 which is spreading around the world, with 2 cases so far identified in the UK.

“We’re not going to stop people traveling, but we will require anyone who enters the UK to take a PCR test by the end of the second day after their arrival, and to self-isolate until they have a negative result,” said Prime Minister of the United Kingdom in a statement at the COVID-19 press conference.

 “We need to slow down the spread of this variant here in the UK because measures at the border can only ever minimize and delay the arrival of a new variant rather than stop it altogether.”


The prime minister said the new measures would be reviewed in three weeks, by which time they should have better information about the “continuing effectiveness” of vaccines.

UK’s New Travel Rule

Fully vaccinated travelers to the UK from many other countries are no longer required to take a Covid test before boarding the plane.

Passengers vaccinated in the UK, the EU, the US, and dozens of other recognized countries – including Brazil, Hong Kong, India, Pakistan, and Turkey. You must be able to prove you are fully vaccinated.

Upon Arrival In the UK


As per the new travel rules, all passenger arrivals, even vaccinated, must quarantine on arrival, and then take pre-booked PCR Only when PCR negative result is out, is the passenger permitted to end quarantine — but this could be multiple days depending on the test provider

All travelers coming to the UK must also fill in a passenger locator form – even if they are just passing through – which they need to fill in 48 hours or less before their journey.

UK Red List Is Back!

The UK has marked the return of its travel red list, which had been ended from 01st Nov 2021.

Notably, the UK on Sunday at 04:00 GMT, placed a total of 9 countries on the travel red list, viz. South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini Angola, Namibia, Mozambique, and Zambia.


All passengers arriving from the red list countries will have to pay for and self-isolate in a pre-booked government-approved hotel for 10 days.

Rates are:

  • 10 days (11-nights) for one adult – £2,285
  • Additional adult (or child over 11) – £1,430
  • Children aged five to 11 – £325

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!

Also Read: GACA Issues Circular To Airlines To Allow Direct Entry Into Saudi Arabia


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6390