Sri Lanka extends free tourist visa facility until April 2020


According to a report published in Colombopage, Govt. of Sri Lanka has decided to extend its free tourist visa on Arrival facility till April 2020.

citizens of 48 countries, including India will get a free tourist visa of Sri Lanka. Tourism Minister Prasanna Ranatunga said.

“We have decided to extend this facility due to requests from the stakeholders. A Cabinet paper would be submitted for this purpose,” Ranatunga has said.

The $20 visa fee for South Asian travelers and $35 fee applicable to visitors from the rest of the world were waived off.


The tourism industry in Sri Lanka has urged the government to continue the fee-free visa regime, as it has been helpful to recover from the post-Easter Sunday setback.

They have pointed out that any loss of revenue to the Government from granting a free visa is insignificant considering the net $ 4.4 billion income the industry brings in like foreign exchange earnings.

The Sri Lankan government launched the program to grant a one-month free visa to visitors from 48 countries on the 1st of August this year until January this year as an effort to boost the tourism industry that was badly hit by the Easter bomb attacks that killed 263 people.

Nationals from Thailand, European Union nations, the United States, Australia, South Korea, Canada, Singapore, New Zealand, Malaysia, Switzerland, Cambodia, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, and Russia are among the 48 nations included in the measure.

To get travel updates directly on your mobile, save and send a message at 9461777617 on Whatsapp to start.

Also Read, Malaysia Offers Visa Free Entry To Indians In 2020!