Singapore To Halt New Ticket Sales of VTL Flights Until Jan 20


Safe Travel, the official website of Singapore Govt has announced that Singapore will halt the sale of VTL flights starting 22nd Dec 2021, however, those who have booked their tickets can travel to Singapore under the Vaccinated Travel Lane.

It must be noted that Singapore has reopened for fully vaccinated travelers of 27 countries under the Vaccinated Travel Lanes (VTLs) program. The Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) allows quarantine-free travel to Singapore.

A notice published on Safe Travel, Singapore ICA’s website stated;

With effect from 22 December 2021, 2359hrs (SGT), there will be no new ticket sales for designated VTL (Air) flights for entry into Singapore from all VTL countries until 20 January 2022, 2359hrs (SGT).


However, travelers who have booked a ticket on a VTL (Air) flight before 22 December 2021, 2359hrs (SGT) will continue to be allowed to enter Singapore under the VTL (Air), provided they meet all VTL (Air) conditions.

“To limit our exposure to imported Omicron cases, we will impose limits on the number of VTL arrivals for the time being. We will freeze all new ticket sales for VTL flights and buses for travel into Singapore from 23 December 2021 to 20 January 2022, both dates inclusive,” said the Ministry of Health Singapore.

This new policy will come into effect starting tonight at 11:59 pm Singapore Time and 9:29 pm as per the Indian time zone, this means you still have some time to book your bookings if you’d like to travel to Singapore within the next month.

Singapore will also temporarily reduce the VTL quotas and ticket sales for travel after 20 January 2022.  However, they will continue to monitor developments closely and update this policy as the situation changes.


What is a Vaccinated Travel Lane?

Under the Vaccinated Travel Lanes, those fully vaccinated will no longer have to undergo quarantine at the destination country and upon returning to Singapore. Instead, you may be required to take additional COVID-19 tests before departure, at your destination, and when you return to Singapore.

Below are the complete details of requirements for entry into Singapore under the Vaccinated Travel Lane.

Singapore’s Active VTL (Air) Countries

Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Canada, Denmark, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Maldives, the Netherlands, the Republic of Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Instagram and Google News For the latest travel news and updates!



Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter