New Transit Visa Requirements for Travellers Passing Through Romania

Romania's Schengen Area accession brings new transit visa requirements for travelers from 12 countries. This article explains who needs a visa, who is exempt, and how to ensure a smooth journey through Romania.

Travellers passing through Romania en route to non-Schengen countries are now required to obtain a Schengen Transit Visa. The recent Schengen accession of Romania, effective March 31, 2024, has prompted these new regulations.

Who Needs a Transit Visa?

According to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Romania, citizens of the following countries will need a Schengen Transit Visa to pass through Romania:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Bangladesh
  3. Democratic Republic of Congo
  4. Eritrea
  5. Ethiopia
  6. Ghana
  7. Iran
  8. Iraq
  9. Nigeria
  10. Pakistan
  11. Somalia
  12. Sri Lanka

Romania Transit Visa

Travellers from non-Schengen countries can get a Romanian transit visa (type B) to pass through Romania for up to 5 days on their way to another country. This visa can be for a single trip, two trips, or multiple trips.

To apply, you’ll need proof of a valid visa for your final destination and a confirmed onward ticket. If travelling by car, you’ll also need your driver’s license, vehicle registration, and a green card (international insurance certificate) listing yourself, your destination country, and any countries you’ll transit through.


Changes in Transit Visa Requirements

Passengers from the aforementioned countries, who previously could transit through Romanian airports without a visa, are now obliged to obtain a transit visa. This visa is necessary for stopovers or transfers during international flights passing through Romania.

Additionally, if your journey involves connecting flights in multiple Schengen countries, you cannot use an airport transit visa. Apply for a regular Schengen visa (type C) instead, as these connecting flights are considered “internal” within the Schengen zone.

Exemptions from the Romanian Transit Visa

While the new transit visa requirement applies to passport holders of the 12 listed countries, certain exemptions exist:

1. Schengen Visa Holders: Travellers holding a Schengen short-term visa, long-stay visas, or residence permits issued by another Schengen Member State are exempt from needing a transit visa for Romania.


2. Specific Residence Permits: Third-country nationals with valid residence permits from Andorra, Canada, Japan, San Marino, or the United States of America, as well as those with residence permits for certain territories of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, are exempt from the transit visa requirement.

3. Flight Crew Members: Nationals of countries that are parties to the Chicago Convention on International Civil Aviation, serving as flight crew members, are also permitted to transit to Romania without a designated visa.

Planning Your Trip Through Romania

Ensure you have the proper visa documentation before booking your travel. If your nationality is listed and you require a transit visa, contact the nearest Romanian embassy or consulate for application procedures and fees.

Travelling with Ease

These new regulations signify an important shift in Romania’s visa policies following its integration into the Schengen Area. Travellers passing through Romanian airports should ensure they are aware of these changes to avoid any inconvenience or disruption to their travel plans.


By understanding these new regulations, you can ensure a smooth and hassle-free travel experience when connecting through Romania.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6400