Indian passport ranked 84th in the world, 58 countries in the list of Visa-Free Travel


According to the Henley Passport Index of 2020, Indian Passport Ranked at 84th position with Visa-Free access of 58 destinations. Indian Passport has slipped down by 2 positions since 2019, where the Indian passport was ranked in the 82nd position.

The Henley Passport Index is the original ranking of all the world’s passports according to the number of destinations their holders can access without a prior visa.

The ranking is based on exclusive data from the International Air Transport Association (IATA), which maintains the world’s largest and most accurate database of travel information.

According to the Henley Passport Index, the latest ranking includes 199 different passports and 227 different travel destinations. The data of passport index are updated in real-time as and when visa policy changes come into effect.


Japan has been topping the Index yet again; according to the 2020 index, Japan citizens are able to access 191 destinations without obtaining a prior visa.

Indian Passport holders can travel to 58 destinations in Asia, Europe, Africa, Middle East, Ocenia and the Caribbean without obtaining a prior visa.

List of countries Indian passport holders can travel without a visa.

  1. Bhutan
  2. Dominica
  3. Ecuador
  4. El Salvador
  5. Fiji
  6. Grenada
  7. Haiti
  8. Jamaica
  9. Mauritius
  10. Micronesia
  11. Nepal
  12. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  13. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  14. Samoa (Requires permit on arrival)
  15. Senegal
  16. Seychelles
  17. Sri Lanka (Requires special permit)
  18. Trinidad and Tobago
  19. Vanuatu
  20. Antarctica
  21. FYRO Macedonia
  22. Svalbard
  23. Montserrat

List of countries which Indian passport holders can get visa on arrival

  1. Bolivia
  2. Cambodia
  3. Cape Verde
  4. Comoros
  5. Djibouti
  6. Ethiopia
  7. Guinea-Bissau
  8. Guyana
  9. Indonesia
  10. Jordan
  11. Laos
  12. Madagascar
  13. Maldives
  14. Mauritania
  15. Palau
  16. Saint Lucia
  17. Somalia
  18. Tanzania
  19. Thailand
  20. Togo
  21. Timor-Leste
  22. Tuvalu
  23. Uganda
  24. Turks & Caicos Islands

List of countries that require eVisa for Indian Passport holders.

  1. Bahrain
  2. Cote d’Ivoire
  3. Gabon
  4. Georgia
  5. Kenya
  6. Moldova
  7. Myanmar
  8. Rwanda
  9. São Tomé and Príncipe
  10. Zambia
  11. Zimbabwe

Countries that have the highest visa-free score are known to have the world’s most powerful passports. Visa-free access to a tourist destination will make travelling cheaper and hassle-free.

To get travel updates directly on your mobile, save and send a message at 9461777617 on Whatsapp to start.

Also Read, Tourists from India to now pay ₹1,000 in Bhutan as sustainable development tax


Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter