India Establishes Air Travel Bubble With Bhutan


The Ministry of Civil Aviation (MoCA) today (21-Sep-2020) via its official website, announced that India has established an air travel bubble with Bhutan and “Indian and Bhutanese carriers are now permitted to operate services between India and Bhutan.”

According to MoCA, India also has air transport bubble agreements with Afghanistan, Bahrain, Canada, France, Germany, Iraq, Japan, the Maldives, Nigeria, Qatar, the UAE, the UK and the US.

As per the agreement between both countries following categories of persons on such flights:

From India to Bhutan

  • Nationals/residents of Bhutan and foreign nationals holding valid visa from Bhutan, if required;
  • Any Indian national. It would be for the airlines concerned to ensure that there is no travel restriction for Indian nationals to enter Bhutan with the particular visa category before issue of ticket/ boarding pass to the Indian passenger.

From Bhutan to India

  • Indian nationals;
  • All Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) cardholders holding passports of Bhutan; and
  • Bhutanese nationals/residents (including diplomats) and foreigners (including diplomats) holding valid visa issued by an Indian Mission in any category covered under Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) guidelines dated 30.06.2020, as amended from time to time.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!


Also Read: Indians Can Now Travel To Canada, France, UK, and 11 More Countries: Check Eligibility


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6076