India Establishes Air Travel Bubble Agreement With Japan


India has signed an air travel bubble agreement with Japan. Means, from now on, Both Indian and Japanese carriers can operate services between the two countries.

With this agreement, Japan’s stranded nationals and also foreigners who have valid Japanese visas can travel to Japan from India.

Same as that, any Indian national holding any type of valid visa can travel to Japan.

However, Japan has asked all operating airlines to ensure that there is no travel restriction for Indian nationals with a particular visa category to enter Japan, before they issue the tickets or boarding pass.


Travel from Japan to India is open to stranded Indian nationals, all Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) cardholders who hold Japanese passports, and foreigners (including diplomats) who have a valid visa issued by an Indian mission on a dated Ministry of Interior Covered Category was issued Guidelines for Affairs (MHA) dated June 30, 2020 as amended.

Last month, Union Civil Aviation Minister Hardeep Singh Puri mentioned in a series of tweets that India was currently negotiating with 13 other countries to create air bubbles for international flight operations.

He had mentioned: “These countries include Australia, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Nigeria, Bahrain, Israel, Kenya, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand. The ongoing negotiations will benefit stranded Indians and nationals of these countries.

In addition to Japan, India has also built travel bubbles with Iraq and Afghanistan. India’s bubble deal now extends to 13 countries, including the United States, United Kingdom, France, Germany, Canada, the Maldives, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Bahrain and Nigeria.


For the latest travel news and updates, Follow and connect with us on FacebookTwitter and Linkedin!

Also Read – DGCA Undertakes Special Safety Audit Of All Scheduled Airlines In India


Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter