Greece Imposes Travel Restrictions For Passengers Arriving From India, Russia, UAE, 10 Other Countries


The Greek authorities on Friday have announced new restriction for all unvaccinated travelers arriving in the country.

As per the new restriction all those who are unvaccinated and arriving from from Egypt, Albania, Argentina, Brazil, Georgia, Cuba, United Arab Emirates, India, China, Libya, Morocco, Russia and Turkey, regardless of their nationality, are required to get tested upon arrival.

The Greek Aviation Authority (GAA) in a press release also warned that the entry ban for the incoming international flights will be expanded until August 27, as an effort to halt the spread of the Coronavirus.

In addition, the NOTAM for incoming flights from abroad that will be valid until Friday includes the following:

  • Prohibition of third-country nationals, including their spouses or persons with whom they have entered into a cohabitation agreement, from entering the country.
  • Permission for passengers travelling for essential reasons and permanent residents of Australia, Northern Macedonia, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, United Kingdom, Israel, Canada, Belarus, Bahrain, New Zealand, South Korea, Qatar, China, Kuwait, Ukraine, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Montenegro, Albania, Japan, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Jordan, Moldova, Brunei, San Marino, Andorra, Vatican, Monaco, Turkey and Kosovo

All travelers arriving in Greece, regardless of nationality, are required to fill in the electronic form, Passenger Locator Form (PFL), before the flight departure to Greece.

The completed PLF form is automatically sent by e-mail to the passenger and is considered a necessary travel document.

In order to enter Greece, the travelers must present the following:

  • A vaccination certificate indicating the holder has been inoculated against Coronavirus at least 14 days before travelling. The document must be presented either in Greek, English, French, German, Italian, Spanish or Russian, and must be issued by a public authority.
  • A negative PCR test result taken 72 hours within departure or 48 hours for rapid test
  • A recovery certificate was issued 30 days ago, indicating the holder was infected with Coronavirus and is immune to it for 180 days after the document has been issued.
  • Flight travelers from abroad may also carry, in digital or printed form, a European digital certificate COVID-19 (EU Digital COVID-19 Vaccination Passport), which contains information on vaccination, recovery or testing status of the holder. Vaccination and testing requirements apply to all passengers over the age of 12.

If the traveler’s rapid test is positive, it will have to be backed up immediately with a PCR test. In case both tests find the traveler positive, a ten-day quarantine requirement will apply.


The isolation requirement applies for seven days for international passengers who are vaccinated but tested positive upon arrival.

In both cases (for seven or ten days of temporary restriction), in order to end the quarantine, the travelers must provide a PCR test on the last day.

Greece is the country that recognizes the highest number of vaccines, ten of them, which are:

  • Pfizer/BioNTech (Comirnaty)
  • Moderna (Spikevax)
  • AstraZeneca (Vaxzevria)
  • Johnson & Johnson (Janssen)
  • Sinovac (CoronaVac)
  • AstraZeneca – Serum Institute of India (Covishield)
  • Novavax
  • Sputnik V
  • Cansino Biologics
  • Sinopharm BIBP

Travelers that inoculated with one of these vaccines are permitted in the country without entering quarantine requirements.


Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!

Also Read: Saudi Arabia: Tawakkalna Health Passport to Link With IATA to Facilitate International Travel


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6279