Explore China Without a Visa: 54 Countries Now Eligible for Visa-Free Transit

China's Visa-Free Transit Policy streamlines travel for citizens from 54 countries, enabling them to embark on short-term trips to 23 designated Chinese cities without the need for a visa. Explore the vibrant streets of Beijing, immerse yourself in Shanghai's cultural gems, or venture into the natural wonders of Guilin – all without the hassle of visa applications.

Effective November 17, 2023, citizens of as many as 54 countries are now eligible for China’s visa-free transit policy, that can enjoy a 72/144-hour visa-free stay in designated Chinese cities. This expansion further facilitates international travel and promotes cultural exchange.

The official announcement, made by the China National Immigration Administration (NIA), brings about new opportunities for Norwegian citizens starting from November 17.

Expanded Access in 23 Chinese Cities

Citizens of 54 countries can now benefit from the 72/144-hour visa-free transit policy across 23 Chinese cities. This expansion covers a total of 20 cities and 29 entry and exit ports, opening up diverse travel possibilities within the country.

China 72/144-Hour Visa-Free Transit

With China’s 72/144 hour Visa-Free transit, you can enjoy a short-term stay in 23 Chinese cities, engaging in activities like tourism and business visits. This initiative promotes seamless travel, fostering cultural exchange between China and eligible countries.


The extension of China’s visa-free transit policy encompasses citizens from 54 countries. These include:

25 Countries in the Europe Schengen area:Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.
15 Other Countries in EuropeRussia, United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, Albania, Monaco, and Belarus.
6 Countries in the AmericasThe United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, and Chile.
2 Countries in OceaniaAustralia and New Zealand
6 Countries in AsiaSouth Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, the United Arab Emirates, and Qatar

Also Read: China Simplifies Visa Application Process to Attract Global Travellers

Eligible Cities and Travel Conditions

Foreign nationals holding valid passports from eligible countries can enjoy a 72/144-hour visa-free stay in 23 designated Chinese cities, provided they meet the following conditions:

  • Possess an interline ticket (connecting ticket) with a confirmed departure date and seat number for a third country or region within the time limit.
  • Enter and exit China from eligible ports.
  • Remain within the permitted cities and regions.

Scope of Permitted Activities

During their stay, visitors can engage in short-term activities such as tourism and temporary business visits. This initiative aims to promote cultural exchange and boost tourism between China and the qualifying nations.


72-Hour and 144-Hour Visa-Free Transit Policies

China currently offers two visa-free transit policies:

72-Hour Visa-Free Transit Policy

Details regarding the eligible city, designated entry and exit ports, and the permissible scope of travel under the 72-hour visa-free transit policy are outlined below:

CityEntry PortsScope of Permitted TravelExit Ports
ChangshaChangsha Huanghua International Airport Hunan ProvinceChangsha Huanghua International Airport
HarbinHarbin Taiping International AirportHarbinHarbin Taiping International Airport
GuilinGuilin Liangjiang International AirportGuilinGuilin Liangjiang International Airport

144-Hour Visa-Free Transit Policy

The designated city, specified entry and exit ports, and the permissible travel scope under the 144-hour visa-free transit policy are outlined below:

  • This policy applies to 20 cities: Beijing, Tianjin, Shijiazhuang, Qinhuangdao, Shanghai, Nanjing, Hangzhou, Ningbo, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Jieyang, Shenyang, Dalian, Qingdao, Chongqing, Chengdu, Xi’an, Xiamen, Wuhan, and Kunming.

Expanded Visa-Free Transit Policy

By extending its visa-free transit policy to more countries, China demonstrates its commitment to promoting international travel and cultural exchange.


This expansion will undoubtedly facilitate business opportunities, tourism, and personal connections between China and the rest of the world.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of Travelobiz.com, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6408