EU Bans 21 Russian Airlines Amid ‘Serious Safety Concerns’ – Check Full List


Due to “Serious safety concerns,” the European Union has blacklisted 21 Russian-certified airlines, including national carrier Aeroflot.

The action, which prohibits the aircraft from entering EU airspace, follows Russia’s attempt to circumvent sanctions imposed following its invasion of Ukraine.

“The Russian Federal Air Transport Agency has allowed Russian airlines to operate hundreds of foreign-owned aircraft without a valid certificate of airworthiness.”

Commissioner for Transport Adina Valean said; “The Russian airlines concerned have knowingly done so in breach of relevant international safety standards. This…poses an immediate safety threat.”


She went on to say that the decision to ban Russian-certified airlines, including Aeroflot, was not another sanction against Moscow for its invasion of Ukraine, but rather a technical and safety measure.

Full List of Russian Airlines Banned By EU

The EU Commission stated that with the inclusion of the 21 Russian airlines, the EU black list of carriers barred from flying over EU territory now included 117 airlines. The commission said the following airlines are part of the ban;

  1. Aeroflot
  2. Aircompany Ikar
  3. Alrosa Air Company
  4. Aurora Airlines
  5. Aviastartu
  6. Iraero Airlines
  7. Izhavia
  8. Nordstar Airlines
  9. Nord Wind
  10. Pobeda Airlines
  11. Rossiya Airlines
  12. Rusjet
  13. Rusline
  14. Siberia Airlines
  15. Skol Airlines
  16. Smartavia Airlines
  17. Ural Airlines
  18. Utar Aviation
  19. UVT Aero
  20. Yakutia
  21. Yamal Airlines

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!



Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter