Ahmedabad-Mumbai Tejas Express flagged off. Know route, timing, fare, features


The IRCTC Ahmedabad-Mumbai Tejas Express, India’s second private train, was flagged off on Friday by Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani from Ahmedabad.

The first train of this kind, the Lucknow-Delhi Tejas Express, has been running since last year.

The Tejas Express will run in Ahmedabad to Mumbai route six days a week except for Thursday. The commercial run of the newly launched Mumbai-Ahmedabad Tejas Express will start from Saturday, the railways said.


First glimpse of the new Mumbai-Ahmedabad Tejas Express which will be inaugurated tomorrow. With state-of-the-art facilities along with the crew’s traditional attire, the new Tejas Express is a symbol of Indian culture blended with modernisation for enhanced passenger comfort. Piyush Goyal Twitted

Here’s everything you need to know about the Ahmedabad-Mumbai Tejas Express Flagged off on Friday:


Tejas Express Ahmedabad to Mumbai Train Number

This train 82902/82901 is to run six days a week on the Ahmedabad-Mumbai-Ahmedabad route.

Tejas Express Ahmedabad to Mumbai Route

The Ahmedabad-Mumbai Tejas Express operates six days a week. Thursday is a rest day for maintenance work.

The train will begin its journey in Ahmedabad at 6:40 a.m. and reach Mumbai Central at 1:10 p.m. after trade stops have been scheduled in Nadiad, Vadodara, Bharuch, Surat, Vapi, and Borivali.

Tejas Express Mumbai to Ahmedabad Timetable

For the return journey, the train leaves Mumbai Central at 3:40 p.m. and arrives in Ahmedabad at 9:55 p.m. On the way there the train stops in Borivali, Vapi, Surat, Bharuch, Vadodara, and Nadiad.

Book Tejas Express Ahmedabad to Mumbai online

Ahmedabad-Mumbai Tejas Express tickets can only be booked online through the IRCTC website. No booking is possible at the counter for train reservations.

Train seats can also be booked through IRCTC’s online travel portal partners such as Paytm, Ixigo, PhonePe, Make My Trip, Google, Ibibo, Railyatri, and others.

Tejas Express Ahmedabad to Mumbai ticket price

The train fare will be dynamic and take into account the prevailing bus, taxi, train and flight prices. The train has different tariff series for the lean, busy and festive seasons. In addition, train prices are calculated from point to point.

The current booking is available to users after the first card is created, which is typically between four hours before and up to five minutes before the train is scheduled to depart.

There is no Tatkal quota or premium Tatkal quota on the train. There will only be a general quota and a foreign tourist quota. Foreign tourists receive a quota of 6 seats in the EU and 12 seats in the CC.

While there are no discount tickets on the train, children under the age of 5 are exempt from the fare and are booked together with their parents. The names of the children booked in this way do not appear in the table.

Children from five years of age are booked for the full price and are given a seat, the railways said.

All passengers traveling on the IRCTC train receive travel insurance of up to 25 rupees, which is provided by the IRCTC free of charge. This free travel insurance also includes the exclusive coverage of Rs. 1 lakh against household theft/robbery during the travel time of the passengers.

In addition to this special feature, the IRCTC first pays compensation of 100 rupees if the train is delayed by more than an hour during its journey, and 250 rupees if each passenger is more than two hours late.

Features of the Tejas Express Ahmedabad to Mumbai

This fully air-conditioned train has two executive-class seats, each with 56 seats, and eight seats, each with 78 seats. The total load capacity of the train is 736 passengers.

The commercial journey of the train will start from Ahmedabad on January 19, 2020, the railways said. The first train of this kind, the Lucknow-Delhi Tejas Express, has been running since last year.
To get travel updates directly on your mobile, save and send a message at 9461777617 on Whatsapp to start.

Also Read, IRCTC Refund Rules 2020: Cancellation Charges for Reserved, RAC & Waitlisted Tickets; 10 Things to Know


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of Travelobiz.com, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6181