West Bengal Extends Flight Ban to Kolkata Airport From 6 Cities Till July 31


The temporary restriction on the arrival of flights to Kolkata Airport from 6 cities in Delhi, Mumbai, Pune, Chennai, Nagpur, and Ahmedabad has been extended until July 31.

The ban was imposed according to the request of the state government to restrict transfers from cities with a high number of coronavirus cases to curb the spread of COVID19.

The ban, which was first announced on July 4, was initially announced for the period July 6 to 19.

The six cities have a large number of coronavirus cases, and West Bengal’s Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had previously written to the center to request flight operations to and from these locations.


The ban by the Kolkata Airport comes after aviation regulator DGCA extended the suspension of scheduled international passenger flights in the country till indefinite period.

However, as per Civil Aviation Minister Hardeep Singh Puri, India govt has partnered with various countries including Germany, France, and the US to create bilateral air bubbles.

After nearly two months of suspension to combat the coronavirus pandemic, the government resumed scheduled domestic passenger flights on May 25.


However, it had allowed airlines to operate a maximum of 33 percent of their pre-COVID flights. The MOCA increased the limits on June 26 from 33 percent to 45 percent.

(With Inputs from PTI)

For the latest travel news and updates, Follow and connect with us on FacebookTwitter and Linkedin!

Also Read –  IndiGo To Operate 10 Additional Flights From Saudi Arabia to India


Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter