Visa-Free to Israel? Not Anymore! New ETA Requirement Explained

Starting August 1, 2024, Israel will require visitors from visa-exempt countries to obtain an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) to enter the country. This new system aims to enhance security and streamline entry processes, aligning Israel with other nations that have similar systems.

In a significant move towards enhancing its travel regulations, Israel announced the launch of an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) system for visitors from visa-exempt countries.

The new system, slated to begin in August, aligns Israel with other nations such as the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom, which already employ similar systems.

New Requirements for Visa-Exempt Travellers

Starting August 1, 2024, visitors from visa-exempt countries will need to obtain an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) to stay in Israel for up to 90 days.

Previously, travellers from these countries could enter Israel without any prior authorization. Despite this new requirement, final entry approval will still be determined by border control officers, as is standard practice in countries with ETA systems.


Who Needs an ETA for Travel to Israel?

The ETA requirement applies to visitors from countries that previously enjoyed visa-free entry to Israel for stays up to 90 days. However, travellers can check their eligibility and find a full list of visa-exempt countries on the official Israeli government website.

Pilot Program Launch

To ensure a smooth transition, Israel will roll out a pilot program for the ETA-IL system. This pilot phase will begin on June 1, targeting holders of U.S. and German passports.

The system will then become available to visitors from other visa-exempt countries starting July 1. From August 1 onward, having an ETA will be mandatory, and airlines will not allow passengers to board flights to Israel without it.

Also Read: UK Introduces Electronic Travel Authorization for Visa-Exempt Travellers


Cost and Validity of the ETA

The ETA-IL will cost 25 shekels (approximately $6.80) and will be valid for up to two years or until the holder’s passport expires. Travellers should note that any changes to their passport details, such as obtaining a new passport or making a name or gender change, will necessitate applying for a new ETA.

Enhanced Security and Tracking

According to the Israeli Population and Immigration Authority, the introduction of the ETA-IL system aims to enhance security by better tracking the entry and exit of tourists. This measure is part of a broader effort to maintain national security while facilitating international travel.

Visa Requirements for Non-Eligible Countries

Visitors from countries not eligible for the ETA-IL will still need to secure a visa from an Israeli consulate before traveling. The ETA-IL system is only applicable to those from visa-exempt countries.

Also Read: Travel Warning Issued for Iran and Israel: Is it Safe to Travel?


Understanding ETA

An Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) is a digital entry requirement for travellers from visa-exempt countries. It is typically applied for online and linked electronically to the traveller’s passport. An ETA helps streamline the entry process and allows authorities to screen travellers before they arrive.

List of Visa-Exempt Countries

Here is the comprehensive list of countries whose citizens are eligible for the new ETA-IL system:

  1. Andorra
  2. Argentina
  3. Australia
  4. Austria
  5. Bahamas
  6. Barbados
  7. Belgium
  8. Brazil
  9. Bulgaria
  10. Canada
  11. Chile
  12. Colombia
  13. Costa Rica
  14. Croatia
  15. Cyprus
  16. Czech Republic
  17. Denmark
  18. Dominican Republic
  19. El Salvador
  20. Estonia
  21. Finland
  22. France
  23. Georgia
  24. Germany
  25. Greece
  26. Guatemala
  27. Honduras
  28. Hong Kong
  29. Hungary
  30. Iceland
  31. Ireland
  32. Italy
  33. Japan
  34. Latvia
  35. Liechtenstein
  36. Lithuania
  37. Luxembourg
  38. Macau
  39. Malaysia
  40. Malta
  41. Mexico
  42. Monaco
  43. Netherlands
  44. New Zealand
  45. Norway
  46. Panama
  47. Paraguay
  48. Peru
  49. Poland
  50. Portugal
  51. Romania
  52. San Marino
  53. Singapore
  54. Slovakia
  55. Slovenia
  56. South Korea
  57. Spain
  58. Sweden
  59. Switzerland
  60. Taiwan
  61. United Kingdom
  62. United States
  63. Uruguay

Planning Your Trip to Israel

Travellers planning a trip to Israel after August 1, 2024, should factor in the additional step of obtaining an ETA before booking flights and accommodation. For the latest information and to check visa-exempt status, visit the official Israeli government website.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!



Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6337