US To Restrict Travel From India Starting May 04


In view of the covid-19 outbreak in India, the United States on Friday announced that it will restrict most of the travel from India starting from Tuesday, 04th May 2021.

The country is planning to barring most non-U.S. citizens from entering the United States.

“On the advice of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and Prevention, the US administration will restrict travel from India,” Press Secretary Jen Psaki said in a statement.

“The policy will be implemented in light of extraordinarily high Covid-19 caseloads and multiple variants circulating in India.” she further added.


It must be noted that the ban on travel from India wouldn’t apply to U.S. citizens, permanent residents, or their spouses.

Other individuals that might qualify for exemptions include humanitarian workers, certain journalists and academics, and students commencing studies in the fall, according to a determination by the State Department for travelers deemed to be in U.S. national interests.

The exceptions mirror those for other countries affected by pandemic-related travel restrictions.

Earlier this week the US issued a level 4 travel advisory and ask its citizens to leave India as soon as possible and also advised them to avoid traveling to India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and the Maldives due to the sudden surge in COVID-19 cases in the region.


It is important to mention that till now around 30 countries, including the United Kingdom, Italy, Germany, France, UAE, Pakistan, and Singapore are also enforcing similar restrictions on travelers from India.

Moreover, Canada, Hong Kong, Malaysia, and New Zealand have suspended all commercial travel with India for the time being.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!

Also Read: India Extends Ban On Regular International Flights Till May 31