UAE Travel: Dubai Announced Random PCR Testing For International Passengers


In a bid to limit the spread of the Omicron variant of Covid-19, the Dubai International Airport has announced that it will now start random PCR tests on passengers arriving on international flights from a few countries.

It’s worth mentioning that as of now passengers arriving from certain countries like Brazil, India, Bangladesh, Russia, and Pakistan, must undergo mandatory testing.

As per a report of Khaleej Times, A Dubai Media Office spokesperson has confirmed that additional testing is being carried out on passengers arriving on flights that are not on screening lists.

Apart from random testing, all passengers who arrived from the United Kingdom (UK) will have to undergo testing at DXB upon arrival. It must be noted that the UK is not on the list of countries in which a PCR test is compulsory.


Dubai Media Office in a statement said;

“PCR tests are mandatory for the flights mentioned on Emirates website. However, as part of the extra precautionary measures, Dubai Airport may conduct random tests upon arrival for certain flights.”

Testing Requirements For Passengers Traveling To Dubai

All passengers travelling to Dubai from the UK must hold a negative Covid‑19 PCR test certificate for a test taken no more than 72 hours before departure.

Residents travelling Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Sudan are subject to mandatory tests upon arrival.


Moreover, these passengers must also have a mandatory ICA and GDRFA approval pre-arrival. This does not apply to passengers who have other visas, such as a newly issued residence or employment visas, short stay or long stay visas, holders of ten-year UAE Golden visa, Investor or Partner visa, visit visa or visa on arrival.

Passengers arriving from the countries above must present a negative Covid‑19 PCR test certificate with a QR code for a test conducted within 48 hours. Prior to departure from an approved health facility, validity should be calculated from the time the sample was collected.

Passengers must also present a Covid‑19 Rapid PCR test report with a QR code for a test conducted at the departure airport within six hours of departure.

Those who tested positive must quarantine for ten days from the time of the first PCT test. If the Covid-19 PCR test result is negative passengers no longer need to remain in self-isolation.


Dubai Imposed Travel Restrictions On 11 Countries

Dubai has also issued fresh restrictions on travellers from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Ethiopia, Kenya, Nigeria, and Tanzania.

Passengers travelling to Dubai who has been in or transited through these countries in the past 14 days are not permitted to enter the Emirate.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!