Traveling To India? 7-Day Home Quarantine Mandatory For All International Arrivals From Today: More Details Here


As you might know that recently India has revised its travel guidelines for international passengers arriving into the country and made a 7 day home quarantine mandatory for all travelers.

The new guidelines have come into effect from today 11th January 2022, so all travelers arriving into the country will now have to undergo home quarantine for seven days and undertake an RT-PCR test on the eighth day of arrival in India.

However, children under 5 years of age are exempted from both the pre and post-arrival testing, they only have to undertake the test if found symptomatic for coronavirus disease (Covid-19) on arrival or during the home isolation period.

Moreover, according to the new guidelines, all inbound passengers will now have to submit a self-declaration form and a negative RT-PCR report on the Air Suvidha portal before their journey.

  1. Submit complete and factual information in a self-declaration form on the online Air Suvidha portal before their scheduled travel, including travel details of the last 14 days.
  2. Upload a negative Covid-19 RT-PCR report. The test should have been conducted within 72 hours prior to undertaking the journey.
Algorithm: Guidelines for International Arrivals applicable from 10th January 2022

Travelers Arriving From ‘At-Risk’ Countries

All passengers arriving from countries specified as ‘At-Risk’ by the Govt. of India will have to undergo a Covid-19 test upon their arrival in India and they have to wait for the test reports at the airport before leaving or taking a connecting flight.

Any passenger who tests positive will be sent to an isolation facility.

All those who tested negative for Covid-19, need to undergo home quarantine for seven days and then get the RT-PCR test done on the 8th day. If tested negative again, they have to further self-monitor their health for the next seven days.

Not just that, they were also required to upload the test report of the RT-PCR conducted on the 8th day on the Air Suvidha portal.


Travelers From Other Countries

Any passengers who are traveling from not-at-risk countries will have to undergo mandatory seven-day home quarantine and follow all other protocols followed by passengers from at-risk countries.

Moreover, 2 percent of the total flight passengers shall undergo post-arrival testing at random at the airport on arrival.

These 2 percent of such travelers on each flight shall be identified by the concerned airlines (preferably from different countries).

India – Updated List of ‘At-Risk’ Countries

Last week India has updated its list of ‘At-Risk’ countries and adds 8 more nations namely Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Nigeria, Tunisia, and Zambia into the list.


Now, India’s ‘At-Risk’ list has a total of 20 countries in it. It is worth motioning that all travelers from ‘At-Risk’ countries will have to follow additional measures on arrival in India, including post-arrival testing.

S. No.Country
1 Countries in Europe including The United Kingdom
2 South Africa
3 Brazil
4 Botswana
5 China
6 Ghana
7 Mauritius
8 New Zealand
9 Zimbabwe
10 Tanzania
11 Hong Kong
12 Israel
13 Congo
14 Ethiopia
15 Ghana
16 Kazakhstan
17 Kenya
18 Nigeria
19 Tunisia
20 Zambia

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6076