Thailand To Extends Visa On Arrival And Visa Exempt Stay Period Starting October


Are you planning a trip to Thailand in the near future? If so, good news: the country has finally decided to extend the stay period for those who enter Thailand on a Visa On Arrival (VOA) or Visa-Free.

According to the Centre for Covid-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) spokesman Taweesilp Visanuyothin, the extended stay will be offered for international tourists between October 2022 and March 2023.


The decision to extend the length of stay for foreign tourists comes in a bid to support its economic recovery as pressures from Covid-19 ease.

Stay Period For Visa On Arrival And Visa Exempt

Foreign tourists from 18 territories who enter Thailand under the visa-on-arrival category will be able to extend their stay by up to 30 days. Those from over 50 countries who currently receive 30 days will be able to stay for up to 45 days.


Beginning in October, Thailand will also increase the duration of its visa-on-arrival programme, which applies to nationals of India, China, and Saudi Arabia, from 15 to 30 days.

“We are looking to extending their stay, This will help boost tourist spending, revive the economy and reduce impact from the coronavirus pandemic.”

the CCSA official said.

Earlier, the entry stamp was given an extra 15 days back then to make up for the two weeks of quarantine or “Sandbox” time that guests had to get through before they could travel freely throughout the kingdom.

Similar, the majority of western passports eligible for visa waivers are stamped with 30-day entry stamps that can be extended once for an additional 30-day period at a local immigration office.


Must Read: Thailand Visa | Travelers From 18 Countries Can Now Apply For eVisa On Arrival Through VFS Global

Thailand Visa On Arrival

Thailand’s Visa on Arrival is currently available for travellers from 18 countries. It should be noted that the applicant must have lived in one of the eligible countries for at least 21 days in a row.

  1. Bulgaria
  2. Bhutan
  3. China
  4. Cyprus
  5. Ethiopia
  6. Fiji
  7. Georgia
  8. India
  9. Kazakhstan
  10. Malta
  11. Mexico
  12. Nauru
  13. Papua New Guinea
  14. Romania
  15. Saudi Arabia
  16. Taiwan
  17. Uzbekistan
  18. Vanuatu

Thailand Visa Exemption

The Visa Exemption Rule allows tourists from 64 countries to enter the country without a visa. They are permitted to stay for a maximum of 30 days if they enter Thailand through an international airport or a land border checkpoint from a neighbouring country.

Thailand Visa Exemption Countries

The following is a list of the 64 countries that are permitted to enter Thailand under the Visa Exemption rule.

S. NoCountryS. NoCountry
2Argentina (90 days)34Macau
6Belgium38Myanmar (14 days only)
7Brazil (30 days and 90 days)39Monaco
9Cambodia (14 days only)41Netherlands
10Canada42New Zealand
11Chile (90 days)43Norway
12Czech Republic44Oman
13Denmark45Peru (30 days and 90 days)
19Hong Kong51San Marino
21Iceland53Slovak Republic
23Ireland55South Africa
27Korea (30 days and 90 days)59Turkey
29Laos61United Arab Emirates
30Latvia62United Kingdom
31Liechtenstein63United States

According to recent media reports, Thailand plans to launch a new 10-year visa programme in September to attract skilled workers and investors. The new long-term visa is designed to increase competition in key industries such as automobiles, electronics, and biotechnology.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 5805