Saudi Arabia Lifted Ban On Citizens Travelling to India and 3 Other Countries


The Ministry of Interior, Saudi Arabia has announced that it has lifted the travel ban on its citizens from travelling to India, Ethiopia, Turkey and Vietnam.

The decision comes just a week after the Kingdom lifted several preventative Covid-19 measures, including as wearing face masks indoors and requiring certification of vaccination to access most public locations.

It is worth noting that in May 2022, the General Directorate of Passports (Jawazat) has barred Saudi citizens from travelling to 16 countries namely; Afghanistan, Armenia, Belarus, Ethiopia, India, Indonesia, Iran, Lebanon, Libya, Somalia, Syria, The Democratic Republic of the Congo, Turkey, Venezuela, Vietnam, and Yemen due to COVID-19 situations in those countries.

Earlier, on June 7, the Ministry of Interior also removed the ban on Saudi citizens travelling to Indonesia.


This implies that Saudi nationals can now travel to India, Ethiopia, Indonesia, Turkey, and Vietnam without any restrictions.

Travel ban to 11 countries remains in effect

According to the General Directorate of Passports, the travel restriction for Saudi nationals to 11 countries, including five Arab nations, remains in effect. Lebanon, Syria, Iran, Afghanistan, Yemen, Somalia, Congo, Libya, Armenia, Belarus, and Venezuela are among them.

Requirements for Saudi citizens to travel abroad

The Jawazat had previously highlighted the criteria for Saudis travelling abroad in a statement on its Twitter account.

According to this, Saudis who plan to go to non-Arab nations must have a passport that is valid for longer than six months.


For travel to Arab nations, the passport must be valid for at least three months.

Saudi Citizens who want to travel to other Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) states must have a national ID card that is valid for more than three months.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!