PM Modi Unveils Names of 21 Largest Unnamed Islands of Andaman & Nicobar: Full List Here


Honouring Param Veer Chakra Awardees

On the occasion of Parakram Diwas, Prime Minister Narendra Modi named the 21 largest unnamed islands of Andaman & Nicobar Islands via video conferencing.

The islands have been named after 21 Param Veer Chakra awardees including Major Somnath Sharma, Subedar and Hony Captain (then Lance Naik) Karam Singh, 2nd Lt. Rama Raghoba Rane, and Nayak Jadunath Singh.

Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti on January 23 is observed as the ‘Parakram Diwas’ every year.

“Naming of 21 islands of Andaman & Nicobar Islands after Param Vir Chakra awardees fills the heart of every Indian with pride,” reads a Tweet by PM Narendra Modi.


National Memorial Dedicated to Netaji Unveiled

PM Modi also unveiled the model of the National Memorial dedicated to Netaji to be built on Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Dweep.

Renaming of Islands

“Keeping in mind the historical significance of the Andaman & Nicobar Islands and to honour the memory of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, Ross Islands was renamed as Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Dweep by the Prime Minister during this visit to the Island in 2018. Neil Island and Havelock Island were also renamed Shaheed Dweep and Swaraj Dweep,” said the Prime Minister’s Office in a statement.

Full List of Islands Named After 21 Param Vir Chakra Awardees

The 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees, after whom the islands have been named are as follows:

S. No.Param Vir Chakra AwardeesIslands Name
1.Major Somnath SharmaSomnath Island
2.Subedar and Hony Captain (then Lance Naik) Karam Singh, MMKaram Singh Island
3.2nd Lt. Rama Raghoba RaneRane Island
4.Nayak Jadunath SinghJadunath Island
5.Company Havildar Major Piru SinghPiru Island
6.Capt GS SalariaSalaria Island
7.Lieutenant Colonel (then Major) Dhan Singh ThapaDhan Singh Island
8.Subedar Joginder SinghJoginder Island
9.Major Shaitan SinghShaitan Singh Island
10CQMH. Abdul HamidHamid Island
11.Lt Col Ardeshir Burzorji TaraporeTarapore Island
12Lance Naik Albert EkkaEkka Island
13Major Hoshiar SinghHoshiar Iasland
142nd Lt. Arun KhetrapalKhetrapal Island
15Flying Officer Nirmaljit Singh SekhonSekhon Island
16Major Ramaswamy ParameswaranRamaswamy Island
17Naib Subedar Bana SinghBana Island
18Captain Vikram BatraBatra Island
19Lt Manoj Kumar PandeyPandey Island
20Subedar Major (then RifleMan) Sanjay KumarSanjay Island
21Subedar Major Retd (Hony Captain) Grenadier Yogendra Singh YadavYogendra Island

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6076