Mumbai Airport Further Reduced Covid-19 Test Rates: Check New Prices


Mumbai’s Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport on Wednesday further reduces the price of both Rapid PCR and RT-PCR tests with immediate effect.

Now the Rapid PCR test will cost ₹1,975 from ₹3,900 earlier, it is worth mentioning that last week the airport has also revised the charges for the Rapid PCR test for COVID-19 at its facility to ₹3,900 from ₹4,500 earlier.


Similarly, the price of a normal RT-PCR test has also been slashed by ₹100, the RT-PCR test will now cost ₹500 instead of ₹600.

Mumbai International Airport Ltd (MIAL) in a press release said;


“From 15 Dec 2021, the Rapid RT-PCR test at Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport (CSMIA) will cost Rs 1,975. This is in line with the latest directive from the Government of Maharashtra. The standard RT-PCR test will continue to cost Rs 500.”

The development comes after the state government imposed a rate cap for the tests after an outcry by passengers traveling to Mumbai on the tests being overpriced.

Mandatory Testing For Passengers From ‘At Risk’ Countries

It may be noted that in the wake of the Omicron variant of Coronavirus, the Indian Govt has revised its guidelines for international passengers arriving in the country.

As per the revised guidelines issued by the Indian Govt, it is mandatory for all passengers arriving/transiting from Countries at-risk to follow the below measures.

  • Submit self-declaration form on Air Suvidha portal.
  • Upload negative RT-PCR report (conducted within 72 hrs. before the journey)
  • Post-arrival COVID-19 test at arriving Airport (self-paid)
  • Home quarantine for 7 days,
  • Re-test on the 8th day and if negative, self-health monitoring for next 7 days

Pre-Booking of Covid-19 Test Mandatory

Earlier this week the Govt of India has made it mandatory for passengers coming in from ‘at-risk’ countries to pre-book their Rapid PCR, RT-PCR tests which they need to undergo on arrival.

These new rules will come into effect from 20th Dec 2021 and in the first phase, they will be applicable only for international travelers arriving at 6 airports namely; Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai Bengaluru, and Hyderabad.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!