Maldives Temporarily Suspends Tourist Visa For India And 6 Other Countries


Due to the huge surge in coronavirus cases in South Asian Countries, the Health Protection Agency of Maldives has announced the suspension of tourist visas for Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka starting from 13th May 2021.

“Starting 13th May, tourist visas for tourists traveling from South Asia countries will be temporarily halted,” said the Health Protection Agency in a tweet.

At present, the government of Maldives has taken several measures to curb the spread of the disease including travel and other restrictions.

“@HPA_MV announces temporary suspension of tourist visas for those traveling from South Asian countries to #Maldives. This safety measure is to be effective from 13th May 2021. We regret any inconveniences caused.” The Tourism Ministry of Maldives announced in a tweet.


Earlier the country has imposed a temporary ban on Indian tourists from checking in to hotels and guesthouses in residential Maldivian islands. The new restrictions take effect on Tuesday, April 27.

Also, starting from 3rd May 2021, all inbound travelers are required to present negative PCR test results, with the sample taken not more than 96 hours before departure to the Maldives.

This also includes travelers who have completed the administration of their 2nd dose of the COVID-19 vaccine.


The negative PCR test result must be attached while completing the Traveler Health Declaration form, which has to be submitted online via IMUGA (, by all arriving passengers before arrival (but not exceeding 24 hours before arrival time).

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!

Also Read: UAE Ban Entry of Travelers From Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka



Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter