Malaysia Bans Entry of Indian, Indonesian, Philippine Citizens From September 7


The Government of Malaysia will ban Indians from entering the country starting Monday, September 7, due to the high rate of increase in COVID-19 positive cases in India.

The ban will also apply on citizens of Indonesia and the Philippines.

The entry ban on long-term immigration pass holders from the three countries will include permanent residents, expatriates, students, and those on spouse visas and participants of Malaysia’s My Second Home program, senior minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob said.

Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin on Friday in a speech said that “Malaysia extended measures to curb the pandemic until the end of the year as the virus “is still actively spreading across the world.”

“The decision was made on the advice of the health ministry to clamp down on the spread of imported COVID-19 cases,” Ismail Sabri said in a televised news conference.


India is the third most affected country by the pandemic behind the United States and Brazil, with its coronavirus tally reaching nearly 3.7 million on Tuesday.

A total of 7,505 people have died of the coronavirus in Indonesia, the highest in the region, while the Philippines, which has reported over 224,000 cases, has seen a continuous rise in infections.

(With Inputs From Reuters)

For the latest travel news and updates, Follow and connect with us on FacebookTwitter and Linkedin!

Also Read: Flydubai To Offers Free Global Cover For COVID-19


Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply