International Travel: Full list of Countries That Have Put Restrictions On Flyers From India


Due to surge of Covid-19 in India, following countries banned flights/issued guidelines for passengers travelling from India :-

Iran– It banned travellers from India from Sunday midnight (April 25/26).


Kuwait– It banned flights from India from April 24. Freighters will continue.

Indonesia– It has decided not to issue Visas to any foreigners who have visited India during the past 14 days.


France– the travellers from Indian will have to undergo the mandatory antigen test on their arrival apart from pre-boarding RT-PCR test.

UAE– It has banned all flights from India except Cargo flights for 10 days from April 24/25 midnights. But the ban is now extended till Jun 14th.

However, passengers exempted from this ban include UAE citizens, diplomatic missions appointed by the countries, official delegations, businessmen travelling on chartered flights and those with golden residency.

USA– It has issued travel advisory to their citizens for visiting India. United Airlines has suspended its flight operation to India citing administrative reasons. However, on the intervening night of April 25/26, it resumed flight operation and operated two flights i.e UA-899 (Delhi-Chicago) and UA-868 (Delhi-San Francisco).


Israel– It has issued travel advisory to their citizens for visiting India.

UK– It has added India in its travel “Red list”. It bars all travel from the country and makes 10 days hotel quarantine mandatory for all UK and Irish citizens coming back from India. All flights have been suspended till April 30.

Hong Kong– It has suspended all flights from India w.e.f April 20 till May 31.

 Singapore– It has banned all long term pass holders and short term visitors, who have travelled to India within the last 14 days from entry or transit via Singapore from April 24.


Canada– It has suspended all flights from India for 30 days starting from the intervening night of April 23/24. However, the country has extended the ban for another 30 days. Now the restrictions between Canada and other will be in placed until 21st June 2021.

Australia- On April 27, Australian Government has banned all incoming flights from India till May 15, 2021. This includes Special and Chartered Flights. Any requirement of flight operation will need special permission from the Embassy.

New Zealand– It bars all flights from India till further orders.

Qatar– Qatar authorities have issued travel advisory effective April 25 asking all pax travelling to Qatar are required to present negative RT-PCR test report at the Indian departure airport. The test report should be validated and certified from an ICMR accredited lab and conducted within 72 hours prior to the schedule time of arrival in Qatar.


Bahrain– Effective from May 24, Bahrain has suspended entry for travelers arriving from red list countries viz. India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Nepal.

The suspension is not applicable for residents and residency visa holders of Bahrain. They will, however, have to show a PCR test report on the airport and quarantine for 10 days.

Maldives– the Health Protection Agency of Maldives has announced the suspension of tourist visas for Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka starting from 13th May 2021. Also, starting from 3rd May 2021, all inbound travelers are required to present negative PCR test results, with the sample taken not more than 96 hours before departure to the Maldives.

Germany– Effective from April 26, entry into Germany from India is restricted with certain exceptions as it has classified India as a Virus Variant country. Exception of travel ban granted to citizens of Germany, Permanent resident, transit person only staying at airport, cargo flights, person travelling due to urgent humanitarian reasons and person travelling by the order of IAEA, UNO.


Bangladesh-Effective from April 26, restriction for entry of Indians into Bangladesh from India through Air/ Rail/ Land with certain exceptions has been extended till May 9. Flight operations from Dhaka have been already suspended since April 14. Cargo movement is permitted.

Italy– Effective from April 26, restriction for Indians entry into Italy. Only residents will be allowed to return from India with a negative test report at the time of departure and will have to undergo quarantine upon arrival.

Oman– Effective from April 24, restriction for entry of Indian into Oman till further orders. Only Oman citizens, Diplomats, Health care workers and their families will be allowed to return from India with a negative test report at the time of departure and will have to undergo quarantine upon arrival.

Djibouti- As per Government of Djibouti orders, Djibouti has restricted the entry of all travelers coming from India to Djibouti.


All the Indian Carriers have also suspended their scheduled flight operation to the countries which have imposed ban on the entry of Indian citizen.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!

Also Read: Bahrain Bans Entry of Travelers From India And 4 More Countries | All Details Here


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 5819