Indian Railways To Resume Nilgiri Mountain Services From Today, Check Schedule


Indian Railways is going to resume its services in the entire Mettupalayam – Udagamandalam (Ooty) section of Nilgiri Mountain Railway (NMR) on daily basis with effect from today, 31st December 2020

The NMR services will be operated as Fully Reserved Special Trains upon resumption, mentioned Southern Railway on its official website.

One pair of fully reserved special train will run between Mettupalayam and Udagamandalam and three pairs of fully reserved special trains will be operated between Coonoor and Udagamandalam, said Railways.

The Southern Railway has also tweeted about it, “Nilgiri Mountain Railway services resume operations from today!- Happy passengers on board an NMR train that departed from Mettupalayam this morning!”


However, only Reserved passengers will be allowed to travel in the NMR train services.

The Railway also said that all the COVID safety protocols will be strictly followed. 

The Southern Railway requested passengers to cooperate with Railways and adhere to COVID appropriate behaviour such as wearing face masks and social distancing.

  • The same fare structure which was in force in pre-COVID times (prior to the suspension of services) will continue.

Here are the Detailed schedule and stoppages of fully reserved Special Trains in the Mettupalayam – Coonoor – Udagamandalam section (UP Trains):

Mettupalayam07:10 (d)
Coonoor16:00 (d)12:35 (d)07:45 (d)10:30/ 10:40
Wellington16:07/16:0812:42/ 12:4307:52/ 07:53
Aravankadu16:17/16:1812:52/ 12:5308:04/ 08:0510:59/ 11:00
Ketti16:33/16:3413:09/ 13:1008:24/ 08:2511:19/ 11:20
Lovedale16:49/16:5013:26/ 13:2708:41/ 08:4211:39/ 11:40
Udagamandalam17:10 (a)13:45 (a)09:00 (a)11:55 (a)

Detailed schedule and stoppages of Fully reserved Special Trains in Udagamandalam– Coonoor – Mettupalayam section (DOWN Trains)

Udagamandalam17.30 (d)14:00 (d)12:15 (d)09:15 (d)
Lovedale­­17:40/ 17:41­­14:10/ 14:1112:25/ 12:2609:25/ 09:26
Ketti17:52/ 17:5314:24/ 14:2512:37/ 12:3809:38/ 09:39
Aravangadu18:06/ 18:0714:37/ 14:3812:52/ 12:5309:54/ 09:55
Wellington18:14/ 18:1512:59/ 13:0010:01/ 10:02
Coonoor18:35 (a)15:05/ 15:1513:15 (a)10:20 (a)
Mettupalayam17:30 (a)

Also, advance booking for the above Special trains is now open.

Railway Minister Piyush Goyal said in a tweet, “Get ready to soak in the beauty of Nilgiri Mountain Railway, Tamil Nadu. This UNESCO world heritage site will resume operations from 31st December. A visual delight for tourists, it offers breathtaking views all along the way.


The services of the NMR was stopped in March to avoid the spread of covid-19 in the country and it will resume after a gap of almost nine months.

Today, Railways also launched the revamped website of IRCTC at 12 noon with new features and facilities for the passengers.

And yesterday, after a temporary suspension of eight months, the Railways also resumed a Rajdhani Mumbai-Delhi special train. The train will run 4-days-week between Mumbai and Hazrat Nizamuddin (Delhi), said the Railways in a press release.


For the latest travel news and updates, Follow and connect with us on FacebookTwitter and Linkedin!

Also Read –  Air India Express January Flight Schedule For Oman