India Updates List of ‘At-Risk’ Countries, Adds 8 More Nations: Full List Here


The Indian Govt on Friday updates its list of ‘At-Risk’ countries and adds 8 more nations namely Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Nigeria, Tunisia, and Zambia into the list.

Now, India’s ‘At-Risk’ list has a total of 20 countries in it. It is worth motioning that all travelers from ‘At-Risk’ countries will have to follow additional measures on arrival in India, including post-arrival testing.

India – List of ‘At-Risk’ Countries

S. No.Country
1 Countries in Europe including The United Kingdom
2 South Africa
3 Brazil
4 Botswana
5 China
6 Ghana
7 Mauritius
8 New Zealand
9 Zimbabwe
10 Tanzania
11 Hong Kong
12 Israel
13 Congo
14 Ethiopia
15 Ghana
16 Kazakhstan
17 Kenya
18 Nigeria
19 Tunisia
20 Zambia

Guidelines For International Travelers From ‘At-Risk’ Countries

All international passengers arriving/transiting from the above-mentioned countries are mandated to follow the below measures;

  • Submit self-declaration form on Air Suvidha portal.
  • Upload negative RT-PCR report (conducted within 72 hrs. before the journey)
  • Post-arrival COVID-19 test at arriving Airport (self-paid)
  • Home quarantine for 7 days,
  • Re-test on the 8th day and if negative, self-health monitoring for next 7 days

India Issues Revised Guidelines For International Arrivals: Testing, Home Quarantine For Passengers From High-Risk Countries


Pre-Booking of Covid-19 Test

As per the guidelines of the Ministry of Civil Aviation, all travelers from ‘At-Risk’ countries, arriving at 6 major airports in India will have to mandatorily prebook a Covid-19 test starting from December 20th.

As per the directive of the Indian Govt, passengers arriving at Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, and Chennai airports must pre-book RT-PCR or Rapid PCR tests which they need to undergo on arrival.

It must be noted that passengers who have not pre-booked their tests will be allowed to board their flight but the concerned airlines will be responsible for book tests for such passengers.

Guidelines for international travelers at Mumbai

Recently, the BMC of Maharashtra has announced new rules for international passengers arriving from UAE, ‘At Risk’ countries at Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport (CSMIA) Mumbai.


All international passengers coming from at-risk, high-risk countries & UAE has to go through rapid RT-PCR or any other tests. The rest of the passengers who are fully vaccinated need not go for the test unless asked to do so by authorities.

  • Step 1: All international passengers coming from at-risk & high-risk countries & UAE will be asked to take the Rapid RTPCR test.
  • Step 2: If positive he/she will ask to take routine RTPCR n ask to wait for results.
  • Step 3: If negative allowed to go for home quarantined for next 7 days
  • Step 4: If RTPCR positive a) symptomatic – seven hills (FOC) or Bombay hospital/Breach Candy hospital (Paid) b) asymptomatic – BKC or Kanjur Jumbo Centre (FOC) or Private Hotel of choice of hotel listed along with ( Paid )

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6400