India Signed Air Bubble Agreement With Australia: Check Details Here


Finally, a piece of good news for those who are waiting to travel to Australia, the Ministry of Civil Aviation (MoCA) Govt of India has signed an Air Bubble Agreement with Australia and taking the total number of air bubble arrangements to 33 countries.

Under this air bubble agreement, both Indian and Australian carriers can operate passenger flights between India and Australian countries.

It may be noted that the DGCA of India on Thursday extended the suspension of regular international passenger flights till 31st January 2022 and only special international flights operating under the Vande Bharat Mission, bilateral “air bubble” arrangements are allowed to operate.

As of 10th Dec 2021, India has signed an air bubble agreement with a total of 33 countries namely;


Afghanistan, Australia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Canada, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Iraq, Japan, Kenya, Kuwait, Maldives, Mauritius, Nepal, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Tanzania, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates (UAE), United Kingdom (UK), United States of America (USA) and Uzbekistan

India-Australia Air Bubble Agreement

As per the air bubble agreement signed between India and Australia, airlines of both countries may carry the following passengers on their flights being operated under this arrangement.

Inbound Flights Into India

  • Indian nationals or nationals of Nepal or Bhutan in Australia and New Zealand;
  • All Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) cardholders and PIO cardholders holding passports of any country; and
  • All foreign nationals holding a valid Indian visa as per extant guidelines.

Outbound Flights From India

  • Nationals/residents of Australia, and foreign nationals with valid visa who are eligible to enter Australia/New Zealand;
  • Any Indian national or national of Nepal or Bhutan destined for Australia/ New Zealand and holding a valid visa of the destination country.
  • It would be for the airlines concerned to ensure that there is no travel restriction for Indian/Nepalese/Bhutanese nationals to enter the destination country before issue of ticket/boarding pass to the Indian/Nepalese/Bhutanese passenger; and
  • Seamen of foreign nationalities and Seamen holding Indian passports would be allowed subject to clearance from the Ministry of Shipping.

Qantas Starts Flight Operation To/From India

It is worth mentioning here that, recently, Qantas has launched commercial flight services to India after nearly ten years and operated first flights from Sydney to Delhi.

The flight from Sydney to Delhi has operated via Adelaide, while the return flights from Delhi to Sydney have operated as nonstop flights.


Qantas To Launch Flights Between Melbourne And Delhi

Apart from the Sydney-Delhi-Sydney route, Qantas has also planning to start the brand-new international route from Melbourne to Delhi starting from 22 December 2021, connecting Victoria to the Indian capital on a Qantas-operated flight for the first time in the airline’s history.

The new Melbourne-Delhi flight will operate four times a week, year-round. Same-day connections will also be available from Brisbane, Sydney, and Canberra.

Flights from Melbourne to Delhi will initially operate via Adelaide, while flights from Delhi to Melbourne will operate nonstop.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!



Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6408