India Likely To Sign Air Bubble Agreement With More Countries


After extending the suspension of regular international flights to and from India till February 28, The Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) India, on Thursday (28 Jan) 2021, said that Indian Govt. may sign more air bubble agreement with countries like Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Saudi Arabia in the coming weeks.

And talking about the suspension, however, the restrictions will not be applicable on international cargo operations and Vande Bharat Mission and Air Bubbles flight operations.

“In partial modification of circular dated 26-06-2020, the competent authority has further extended the validity of circular issued on the subject cited above regarding Scheduled International commercial passenger services to/from India till 2359 hrs 1ST of 28th February, 2021.”

However, International Scheduled flights may be allowed on selected routes by the competent authority on case to case basis.

DGCA said in a circular.

It is worth mentioning that all scheduled international passenger flights have been suspended in India since March 23 due to the coronavirus pandemic, special flights have been operating under the Vande Bharat mission since May and under air bubble arrangements since July.

So far, India has signed the air bubble agreement with a total of 24 countries viz. Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Canada, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Iraq, Japan, Kenya, Kuwait, Maldives, Nepal, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Qatar, Rwanda, Tanzania, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Ukraine, and United States of America.

Under the Vande Bharat Mission and Air Bubbles, Indians can travel to more than 100 countries by taking connecting flights.


For the latest travel news and updates, Follow and connect with us on FacebookTwitterLinkedinGoogle News and Telegram!

Also Read: Govt. Extends Restrictions On India-UK Flights Till February 14


Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter