Himachal Pradesh: Negative RT-PCR Test Report Mandatory For Passengers From 7 States


Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Jairam Thakur on Sunday said that starting from April 16 passengers to produce a Covid-19 negative test report for entry into the state.

The Chief Minister said that people coming from seven states with high cases of Covid-19 include Punjab, Delhi, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Karnataka, Rajasthan, and Uttar Pradesh must have to bring RT-PCR negative report obtained 72 hours before entering the state.

The decision comes after a huge spike in Covid-19 cases across the country.

No Restrictions On Tourist Movement

At present, it is not right to stop the tourists from coming to Himachal Pradesh, we have issued guidelines to the Hotel Association in view of the epidemic, said Jairam Thakur in an interview.


“Tourism and hotel industry contributes 7 percent in GDP of the state. Around 2 crore tourists come here normally in the season. The businesses had suffered a lot during COVID-19 lockdown,” Thakur told news agency ANI.

The Chief Minister further said that the businesses of the state were started picking up recently but another wave of the virus has hit. “For now, there is no restriction on tourists. We will monitor the situation,” he said.

It is worth mention that amid the fear of Covid-19 cases in the country, many states have been imposed fresh restrictions on inter-state travel and made it mandatory for visitors to produce negative Covid-19 (RT-PCR) test report for entry.


As of now, a total of 16 states has required negative RT-PCR tests report for visitors, especially those who are arriving by air.

For the latest travel news and updates, Follow and connect with us on FacebookTwitter, Linkedin, Google News and Telegram!

Also Read: List of States That Imposed Night Curfew; Plan Your Travel Accordingly



Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter