Flying To India? Check New Rules For Travelers Arriving From 87 Countries Effective Today


As you may know that last week India has relaxed international travel norms and issued new guidelines for international travelers arriving into the country starting from today, 14th February 2022.

Notably, the rules for international arrivals have been relaxed for 87 countries including Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Maldives, New Zealand, Netherlands, Qatar, Singapore, Switzerland, UK, and the USA. However, China and UAE are among those not on the list as of now.

Revised Travel Guidelines For International Arrivals

Here are the five key things you should know if you are traveling or planning to travel to India.

1. Submit Self Declaration Form On Air Suvidha Portal

All travelers planning to travel to India should submit complete and factual information in a self-declaration form on the online Air Suvidha Portal before the scheduled travel, including the last 14 days of travel details.


Airlines to allow boarding by only those passengers who have filled in all the information in the Self Declaration Form on the Air Suvidha portal and uploaded the negative RT-PCR test report or Covid -19 vaccination certificate of having completed the primary vaccination schedule.

2. No Pre-Departure RT-PCR Test Required

Earlier, all international travelers are required a negative RT-PCR test to board a flight to India but now the same has been dropped for fully vaccinated travelers from 87 countries.

However, they have to upload a Certificate of completing the full primary vaccination schedule of COVID-19 vaccination while submitting the self-declaration on the Air Suvidha Portal.

3. RT-PCR Test On 8th Day Also Scrapped

Apart from the pre-departure RT-PCR test requirement, the Indian Govt. has also scrapped the requirement of the Covid-19 test need for undertaking on the 8th day of arrival in India and uploading the same on the Air Suvidha portal.


4. Random Sampling of 2% Travelers

2% of the total international passengers in the flight shall undergo random post-arrival testing at the airport upon their arrival in India.

Such travelers in each flight shall be identified by the concerned airlines (preferably from different countries). They will submit the samples and shall be allowed to leave the airport.

If such travelers are tested positive, their samples should be further sent for genomic testing at the INSACOG laboratory network. They shall be treated/isolated as per laid down standard protocol.

5. No Mandatory Home Quarantine

In the major relaxation, the Govt of India has removed the mandatory 7 days of home quarantine for international arrivals. Now travelers will only have to self-monitor their health for the next 14 days of arrival.


If travelers under self-health monitoring, develop signs and symptoms suggestive of COVID-19, they will immediately self-isolate and report to their nearest health facility or call National helpline number (1075)/ State Helpline Number.

Check Full Guidelines: India Eases Travel Rules; Removed ‘At-Risk’ Category, Pre-Departure Covid-19 Tests For Fully Vaccinated Travelers

All the relaxations are for those who are arriving from the following 87 which primary vaccination schedule completion certificate is allowed to be uploaded;

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Angola
  4. Antigua & Barbuda
  5. Australia
  6. Austria
  7. Azerbaijan
  8. Bangladesh
  9. Bahrain
  10. Belarus
  11. Brunei Darussalam
  12. Botswana
  13. Bulgaria
  14. Canada
  15. Cambodia
  16. Chile
  17. Columbia
  18. Commonwealth of Dominica
  19. Costa Rica
  20. Croatia
  21. Cuba
  22. Cyprus
  23. Denmark
  24. Estonia
  25. Finland
  26. Georgia
  27. Grenada
  28. Guatemala
  29. Guyana
  30. Hong Kong
  31. Hungary
  32. Iceland
  33. Indonesia
  34. Iran
  35. Ireland
  36. Israel
  37. Kazakhstan
  38. Kingdom of Morocco
  39. Kyrgyzstan
  40. Latvia
  41. Lebanon
  42. Liechtenstein
  43. Malaysia
  44. Maldives
  45. Mali
  46. Mauritius
  47. Mexico
  48. Moldova
  49. Mongolia
  50. Mozambique
  51. Myanmar
  52. Namibia
  53. Nepal
  54. New Zealand
  55. Netherlands
  56. Nicaragua
  57. North Macedonia
  58. Oman
  59. Paraguay
  60. Panama
  61. Portugal
  62. Philippines
  63. Qatar
  64. Romania
  65. St. Kitts and Nevis
  66. San Marino
  67. Saudi Arabia
  68. Serbia
  69. Seychelles
  70. Sierra Leone
  71. Singapore
  72. Slovak Republic
  73. Slovenia
  74. Spain
  75. Sri Lanka
  76. State of Palestine
  77. Sweden
  78. Switzerland
  79. Thailand
  80. The United Kingdom
  81. Trinidad & Tobago
  82. Turkey
  83. Ukraine
  84. United States of America
  85. Venezuela
  86. Vietnam
  87. Zimbabwe

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!



Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6270