Emirates Announced Guidelines For Passengers Traveling To UAE From India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka


Emirates the flagship carrier of UAE on Tuesday announced the updated guidelines for passengers traveling to UAE from India, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Uganda.

The announcement comes after the National Emergency Crisis and Disaster Management Authority (NCEMA) announced that the country will allow entry of stranded residents from India and 5 other countries.

Who Can Travel To UAE?

  • Those with valid residency visas who received the two doses of vaccine in the UAE, and that 14 days passed since receiving the second dose as well as having vaccination certificates approved by official authorities in the country.
  • Medical personnel working in the country including doctors, nurses, technicians.
  • Those working in the educational sector teach in universities, colleges, schools, and institutes.
  • Students studying in the country.
  • People who deserve humanitarian consideration with valid residency visas.
  • Workers in federal and local government authorities.
  • Cases of those completing treatment in the country.

Exemptions For Non Vaccinated Passengers

  • Holders of golden and silver visas and diplomats
  • Healthcare workers including doctors, nurses and technicians
  • Education sector workers including professors, teachers and students studying in the UAE
  • Government employees
  • Exhibitors and participants who are under the sponsorship of EXPO 2020

Passengers Must Comply With The Following

  • Dubai visa holders must apply for pre entry approval through General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs (GDRFA)
  • Passengers must have a valid COVID-19 test certificate issued within 48 hours between the time of sample collection and scheduled flight departure. Only COVID-19 PCR test reports from certified labs that issue a QR code linked to the original report will be accepted
  • Passengers must complete a COVID-19 rapid test 4 hours before the departure of their flight
  • Passengers must complete a COVID-19 PCR test on arrival in Dubai
  • UAE Nationals are exempted from the above requirements but subject to COVID-19 PCR test on arrival in Dubai

Transit Passengers

UAE has also lift the ban on transit passenger traffic from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Nigeria, and Uganda from 05th August 2021.

All passengers traveling from countries where flights had been suspended would be able to transit through its airports from Thursday as long as they present negative PCR tests taken 72 hours prior to departure.


Moreover, UAE’s airports will allocate special lounges for transit passengers while taking all precautionary and preventive measures.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!

Also Read: Saudi Arabia Offers One-Year Multiple Entry Visa For Tourists From 49 Countries: Full List Here


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of Travelobiz.com, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6334