Countries Impose Restrictions On Travellers From China Amid Covid Concerns


Last month, China announced that it has removed nearly all domestic Covid restrictions in December 2022, and as of January 8th, it will likely do away with its quarantine requirement for international visitors as well.

While China has eased restrictions on the movement of its 1.4 billion citizens, other countries have imposed strict measures for Chinese visitors, fearing that the high number of Covid cases in China will lead to the emergence of new virus variants.

Restrictions On Travellers From China

As of now, several countries have imposed restrictions on Chinese travellers and required a negative Covid-19 report in an effort to slow the spread of the virus. Here is the list of countries that have imposed such restrictions on travellers from China:

1. India

Beginning today, January 1, India has imposed travel restrictions on passengers arriving/transiting from China, Hong Kong, Japan, South Korea, and Thailand and required a negative Covid-19 test report and must also submit a self-declaration through the Air Suvidha portal. Passengers from such countries who show symptoms or test positive will be quarantined.


2. United States

Following India, the United States has also announced that starting from January 5, it will also require all travellers aged 2 and above coming from China, Hong Kong, or Macao to present a negative Covid-19 test report taken within the previous two days before their departure. Those who tested positive for the virus more than 10 days before their flight can instead provide proof of recovery.

3. United Kingdom

Passengers flying from China to the UK beginning January 5 must present a negative Covid pre-departure test (PDT) taken no more than two days before departure. Despite the fact that there are no direct flights from China to Scotland, Wales, or Northern Ireland, the government stated that it is working with the regions to ensure that this is implemented across the UK as soon as possible.

4. France

Beginning today, January 1, France will also require Chinese travellers to present a negative Covid-19 test report obtained within 48 hours of departure. In addition, France will also conduct random Covid testing on some Chinese travellers upon their arrival in France.

5. Italy

Italy has also made Covid antigen testing and virus sequencing mandatory for all Chinese visitors. Malpensa, Milan’s major airport, had already begun testing passengers arriving from Beijing and Shanghai. According to some media reports, 50% of recent Chinese arrivals at Milan airport tested positive for the virus.


6. Australia

Australia also announced on Sunday that travellers from China will be required to provide negative COVID-19 test results beginning January 5, joining a growing number of nations that have implemented similar restrictions as the Covid-19 cases in China continue to surge.

7. Israel

On Friday, Israel announced new COVID-19 testing requirements for Chinese visitors, requiring a negative Covid-19 test in order to enter the country. Israeli authorities have also advised airlines not to allow non-Israelis to fly from China unless they have a negative PCR test.

8. Japan

According to Health Ministry of Japan guidelines, beginning at 0:00 a.m. (JST) on December 30, 2022, all travellers and returnees who have stayed in China (except Hong Kong and Macau) within 7 days prior to entry and all travellers and returnees arriving from China (except Hong Kong and Macau) by direct flight will be required to take an on-arrival test at the quarantine station.

9. Malaysia

Malaysia will screen all inbound visitors for fever and test wastewater from aircraft arriving from China for Covid. Given China’s lack of data transparency, wastewater testing is a better method than testing passengers to track new variants because it provides a clear picture of how the virus is mutating.


10. Morocco

Because of an increase in coronavirus cases, Morocco will prohibit Chinese visitors from entering the country beginning January 3. According to a statement issued by the Foreign Ministry on Saturday, “the Moroccan Authorities decided to prohibit access to the territory of the Kingdom of Morocco to all travellers from the People’s Republic of China, regardless of nationality.”

11. South Korea

South Korea will perform COVID-19 tests on Chinese visitors and restrict short-term visas for Chinese nationals. Travellers from China must provide a negative PCR test within 48 hours of departure or a rapid antigen test within 24 hours, followed by a PCR test upon arrival.

12. Spain

According to Spain’s top health official on Friday, all travellers from China to Spain will be required to test negative for COVID-19 or prove that they have been fully vaccinated against the Coronavirus disease.

13. Taiwan

All passengers arriving on direct flights from China are required to undergo Covid-19 testing upon arrival and self-monitor their health for 7 days by taking rapid antigen tests every 48 hours. These measures will be in place at least until the end of January, with the possibility of an extension. The entry of tourists from mainland China is currently banned.


14. Qatar

Qatar has also imposed restrictions on Chinese travellers; beginning Tuesday, January 3, 2023, all Chinese passengers must present a negative Covid-19 PCR test result at the check-in counter. The PCR test must be completed within 48 hours of departing.

15. Nepal

Nepal has also has made the Covid-19 negative reports mandatory for all international passengers including those arriving from China. Nepal Airlines informed all passengers that passengers arriving from the international sector must present a COVID-19 international certificate or a COVID-19 PCR negative report.

This is a list of countries that have currently imposed restrictions on Chinese travellers; our team will review the list on a regular basis and keep it up to date.

However, it is important to note that these restrictions are fluid and may change as the situation evolves. For the most up-to-date information on travel restrictions and requirements, travellers should contact their respective governments and airlines.


Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6283