American Airlines Suspends Service To 15 Cities In October


American Airlines Group Inc. will adjust its October schedule to remove service to 15 cities as a result of low demand and the expiration of the air service requirements associated with the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act.

This is the first step as American continues to evaluate its network and plans for additional schedule changes in the coming weeks.

These station suspensions will be effective Oct. 7. For now, these changes are only in place for the October schedule period, which runs through Nov. 3.

The airline will continue to re-assess plans for these and other markets as an extension of the Payroll Support Program remains under deliberation. The full, updated October schedule will be released Aug. 29, and American anticipates releasing its updated November schedule by late-September.


The full list of suspensions is below and will be reflected on Aug. 29.

Service Suspensions Beginning Oct. 7

CityAirport Code
Del Rio, TexasDRT
Dubuque, IowaDBQ
Florence, S.C.FLO
Greenville, N.C.PGV
Huntington, W.Va.HTS
Joplin, Mo.JLN
Kalamazoo/Battle Creek, Mich.AZO
Lake Charles, La.LCH
New Haven, Conn.HVN
New Windsor, N.Y.SWF
Roswell, N.M.ROW
Sioux City, IowaSUX
Springfield, Ill.SPI
Stillwater, Okla.SWO
Williamsport, Pa.IPT

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Google News for the latest travel news and updates!

Also Read: Qantas “Unlikely” To Resume International Flights Before July 2021


Manish Khandelwal
Manish Khandelwal

Manish Khandelwal, a travel-tech enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the travel industry. Founder and Editor-in-Chief of, he's passionate about writing.

Articles: 6081